What is the Difference Between PSM1 and PSM2?

Share on Socialmedia


Do you want to be a professional scrum master who aptly implements Scrum in everyday teamwork? Simplilearn’s PSM certification training course comprehensive course covers the principles and process theory underpinning the Scrum framework and make sure the participants learn what is at the key of the Scrum and Agile movement. This two-day classroom training will open new career opportunities for you in multiple industry zone. Many of our students want to take a recognized certification to show that they have the skills, knowledge, and experience to excel in the role of Scrum Master. A popular choice for people wanting Scrum certifications is Professional Scrum Master. Certificate holders are allow to use a logo to identify their achievement, along with the certification. If you’ve seen these, or you have colleagues who hold the certification, you might be wondering what the difference is between the two most common levels: PSM I and PSM II.

PSM is Professional Scrum Master, a certification scheme maintained and managed by Scrum.org. It is made up of 3 levels.

  • PSM I: for those who wish to demonstrate a fundamental level of Scrum mastery.
  • PSM II: for those who wish to prove their underlying knowledge of Scrum principles and show that they can apply these in the real world.
  • PSM III: for those who hold a deep understanding of Scrum practices and can apply them in a variety of complex organizational settings.

We’re focusing today on the first two levels as these are the most common. PSM I and PSM II: Exam Differences


  • Passing score: 85%
  • Time limit: 60 minutes
  • Number of Questions: 80
  • Format: Multiple Choice, Multiple Answer and True/False
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Exam format: 85%


  • Passing score: 85%
  • Time limit: 90 minutes
  • Number of Questions: 30
  • Format:  Multiple Choice, Multiple Answer and True/False
  • Difficulty: Advanced
  • Exam format: 85%

The exams are as follows:


  • The Professional Scrum Master level I (PSM I) assessment is available to anyone who wishes to prove their knowledge of the Scrum framework and capability to support value creation and delivery. Those who pass the assessment on scrum.org will receive the industry recognized PSM I Certification to demonstrate their mastery of the content. The PSM I assessment is grounded in the Professional Scrum Master Subject zone. The assessment is in place to make sure you understand the Scrum Master role and therefore detailed in its questions and required answers.  Many questions ask the test-taker to think about or explain the meaning from the Scrum Guide and to apply content from the PSM subject areas and in some cases, apply their own experience.
  • This scrum master certification (PSM I) is the most admirable certificate of all that certify Scrum. Other certifications can easily be obtained by attending a scrum master training or through an exam where failing could only happen by purpose. PSM assessment requires a good knowledge of the original version of Scrum, and its passing requirements are high (85%). Such strict basis provides more teeth to its certificate than the other certifications provided in the marketplace. PSM I test does not require any required training courses.
  • PSM I focuses on your knowledge of the material; the test itself mainly consists of multiple-choice Q&A to test what you know about scrum.


  • The Professional Scrum Master TM level II (PSM II) assessment is available to anyone who wishes to tell his or her capability to apply the Scrum framework to solving advanced, complex problems in the real world. Those that pass the assessment will receive the industry recognized PSM II Certification as a sign of their advanced knowledge and capability pertaining to Scrum and the role of the Scrum Master.
  • Anyone attempting the PSM II should have advanced Scrum knowledge, in-depth Scrum experience and/or have taken the Professional Scrum Master course earlier to taking this assessment. However, attending a course is neither necessary nor sufficient for certification. The PSM II assessment is very difficult, and consists of multiple-choice questions based on your knowledge of Scrum and how you would handle real-world situations.
  • PSM II on the other hand, focuses more on the practice and real-world situations: The test itself, how you would respond in such and such situations. PSM II is also observing a more advanced level exam and it is harder to take.


PSM I and PSM II build on each other. While there are differences, they reflect the knowledge and understanding that you have to have at each level. As you’d expect, PSM II builds on what is assessed at the PSM I level. This makes both certificates complementary to each other and a perfect way to advance your career as a Scrum Master. Both certificates have high industry value amongst employers, especially in the IT industry and the area of software delivery. If you work in these fields, and you operate in Scrum teams, having a Professional Scrum Master certification will show your employer that you are committed to professional development and to getting the best possible project results for your business.

For more blogs: https://blog.aleph-technologies.com/

As a company comprised of individuals who have seen the vast number of improvements the Agile mindset can bring, It has become our resolute mission to bring Agile practices to every workplace the world over.


Back To Top