Which public Agile training is right for me?

Share on Socialmedia


Agile has been developed now, some domains like Project Management and Service Management, organizations look for agile experience and certification from the candidates. This is the reason why agile professionals aspire for certifications so they can gain every one of the advantages when they plan to switch jobs or aspire to a career in the Agile domain. In general, Agile certifications provide the following benefits are Better Visibility, Better Salary, Better Credibility, Keeping up to the present market trend.

If you are new to Agile have been working on Agile projects for a while, an Agile certification can support you by not only educating you on the best practices, however by demonstrating your knowledge, experience, and ability in Agile. We often asked, in a sea of Agile certifications (some new, some old), “Which should we get?”. The first question we ask is who are you getting it for? It is safe to say that you are getting it for yourself or your customer, or both? If you are getting for your costumer, ask what certification they would like to have. If you are getting it for yourself, we suggest the PMI-ACP (Agile Certified Practitioner). To cut to the chase, there are many other Agile certifications, however many are for Scrum as it were. PMI-ACP is a well-known and distinguished certification. It based on both knowledge and experience, which many of the others are not.

Top 5 Agile Certifications

1.    PMI-ACP (Agile Certified Professional)

2.    Scrum Alliance

3.    Scrum.org Professional Scrum Master (PSM I)

4.    International Consortium for Agile (ICAgile)

5.    SAFe Scaled Agilists

1. PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)

The Agile Certified Practitioner (ACP) from the Project Management Institute (PMI) is for project management professionals. The PMI-ACP provides assurance that the certification holder has real-world experience managing agile projects and knows about many subsets of the agile process, including Scrum, Kanban, Lean and others.

2. Scrum Alliance

The Scrum Alliance is the leading membership organization for Scrum professionals, with the mission of general adoption and effective practice to Scrum. The Scrum Alliance offers six Scrum certifications for IT and software development professionals: Certified Scrum Master, Certified Scrum Product Owner, Certified Scrum Developer, Certified Scrum Trainer, Certified Scrum Coach and Certified Scrum Professional.

3. Scrum.org Professional Scrum Master (PSM I):

The PSM I certification is highly sought after because it allows IT, professionals, to display a deep knowledge of Scrum principles within the role of the Scrum Master.

4. International Consortium for Agile (IC Agile)

The International Consortium for Agile is an independent recognize offering comprehensive Agile certifications that provide role expertise across all Agile ‘flavours,’ including Scrum, Extreme Programming (XP), Kanban and more.

5. SAFe Scaled Agilist

SAFe Scaled Agilist, otherwise called SAFe Agilist or Scaled Agilist, is a two days training course given by the training providers. The candidates who have more than 5 years of experience in software development, testing, project management, business analysis or scrum. In this course, the candidate gets detailed information about Lean-Agile leadership principles and how to launch SAFe in agile.

A SAFe Agilist also knows how to maintain and release value included software continuously for continuous development. The candidates who are aspired to learn transformational skills should join the leading SAFe Agilist course and get ahead in their careers with the SAFe Agilist job.

Here is a great video about top 5 Agile Certifications :

How to Choose the Best Agile Certification?

Above comparison shows multiple faces of the best agile certifications we have taken. One important point to note is the certifications are Scrum based. Reason for that is very simple. Scrum is the most used form of agile.

Even, after knowing all particulars above certifications, the dilemma is which one to choose.

1.    Basic Knowledge                 2. Advanced Knowledge                3. Scaling

•    CSM/CSPO/CSD                         PMI-ACP                                              SAFe SA

•    PSM/PSPO/PSD I                        CSP

We feel it’s a three-step approach. Anybody looking to gain knowledge about agile should begin from the basics of Agile/Scrum. Once basics are developed, advance knowledge should be developed. Scaling is the third step as this is about scaling agile competency at organization level which is definitely the last step.


There is much more training available in the market addition the five that we discussed above. Professionals have to make a wise call based on what they are looking for. If the target is to get advantages in career or changing a job, PMI-ACP &CSM has more market value and popularity. If the target is to gain pure knowledge information PSM-I is best, to begin with then going higher in its levels. So, choose an Agile certification according to your professional way and requirement.

For more blogs: https://blog.aleph-technologies.com/

As a company comprised of individuals who have seen the vast number of improvements the Agile mindset can bring, It has become our resolute mission to bring Agile practices to every workplace the world over.


Back To Top